Deer Park Vineland Road Local Service District 530 Salmonier Line Holyrood, NL A0A 2R0



DP/VR LSD Committee Meeting Minutes

January 19 2022 7:00pm Via Video Conference

In attendance:
Dave Chaulk
Wanda Highmore
Kevin O'Regan
John Hussey
Charlie Noseworthy

Not Attending: Jeff Fifield Jim Batterton

Call to Order of Meeting

Dave Chaulk called the meeting to order at 7:03pm.

Confirmation of Agreement on Electronic Meeting

All members agreed to conduct this meeting via Zoom format.

Acceptance of last Committee Meeting Nov 17, 2021

John Hussey made a motion to accept the minutes as circulated from the last meeting held November 17, 2021. Wanda Highmore seconded the motion. A vote was taken and the motion carried.

Recap of Attempted AGM

The details of the Annual General Meeting were discussed. The meeting was scheduled for December 15th 2021 at the Capital Hotel in St. John's. The meeting was unable to be called to order as only 27 attendees were present, not achieving the 42 required to reach a quorum. Both the committee and people attending the AGM were disappointed with the poor attendance.

The meeting was advertised on signage placed within the LSD, and two separate email blasts sent to registered LSD addresses.

The meeting had a direct cost to the LSD of \$890.00 for room rental and signage, which didn't include donated printing services and AV presentation equipment.

As an election was supposed to take place, it was asked form the floor what would happen to the administration of the LSD. The committee members present indicated that they would continue to operate the LSD until an election could be held.

Dave Chaulk advised the committee that prior to the AGM he had received a communication from Jeff Fifield that he was not willing to stand for reelection should he be nominated.

It was decided that the newsletter being sent out with would include a statement from the LSD that nominations would be accepted for members of the LSD Committee. An electronic election can then be held from the nominated list.

Agreement on Continuance of Present Committee Members

All committee members present agreed to remain until the election can be held. Dave Chaulk confirmed that he had received a message from Jim Batterton that he would remain as well.

Agreement on 2021 Electronic AGM

Wanda Highmore made a motion that due to the poor attendance for the AGM meeting, the next AGM and election would be conducted by an electronic process. Seconded by Charlie Noseworthy. A vote was taken and the motion carried.

Newsletter for January Mail out

There was discussion on the update to go out with the 2022 invoices. It was decided that the letter should include details on the AGM and election, snowclearing details, dates for garbage bulk pickup and a notice advising owners selling properties to advise the committee of the change. Wanda Highmore, John Hussey and Charlie Noseworthy agreed to put the newsletter together.

Approval of Road Fee Rate for 2022

Wanda Highmore made a motion that the Road Fees for 2022 be set at \$ 400 per year, with a \$ 100 discount for owners paying there fees before March 31, 2022. First Response Fees are confirmed with the Town of Holyrood at \$ 45 per property. Seconded by Charlie Noseworthy. A vote was taken and the motion carried.

Budget 2022

With the annual road fees confirmed, the Budget for 2022 was discussed and found to be in line with the 2021 Budget. Wanda Highmore made a motion to accept the 2022 Budget. Seconded by Kevin O'Regan. A motion was taken and the motion carried.

Digital mapping of DP/VR LSD for fire and emergency response

Dave Chaulk reported that this project is continuing. All member agreed to assist with assigning names to the mapped properties for properties that the have details.

New business

Dave Chaulk discussed the option of a touch up grade to the road network. Charlie, Wanda and John agreed to let Dave know of any particular areas that they see that need attention.

Adjournment

Wanda Highmore made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:45pm. The motion was seconded by Charlie Noseworthy. A vote was taken and the motion carried.